Thornton Police Department

The Thornton Police Department is led by Chief of Police Randy Nelson and operates under the three divisions: Patrol, Administration, and Detectives, each of which is led by a Deputy Chief. Chief Nelson, a Colorado native, has been with the Thornton Police Department since 1976. During his tenure, he has managed all three Divisions within the police department. Chief Nelson has a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminology from Indiana State University and is a graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigation National Academy for Law Enforcement Executive Managers.

There are 243 commissioned police officers and 77 non-commissioned employees working for the department. Our police department strongly emphasizes community involvement and is committed to providing high quality law enforcement services. The City of Thornton offers quality services for approximately 135,000 residents.